Worried about rehoming

Discussion in 'Behaviour & Training' started by Indecisive1, Feb 24, 2019.

1. Indecisive1

Indecisive1 New Member

I have some older kittens that I’ve had for about 6 months. I had planned on getting them adopted but they had medical issues that kept cropping up and it took longer to get eveeything under control than i expected.
    They’re okay now but I have grown attached and will be sad to see them go, if and when they are asopted. I am also concerned about them. I have never done anything like this before and since they’ve only known me and my family, I’m concerned about them being with new people. They were about 5-6 weeks when I took them in but they were, technically, feral. They are still not completely comfortable with the iother people in the house.
    Is there anything that I can do to make it easier for them if they get adopted? I don’t know how they will react to potential adopters, since they’re not great around other people. They don’t bite. I am worried about them getting too stressed.

Indecisive1, Feb 24, 2019
  2. Indecisive1

Becky Well-Known Member

You could make sure that each has a blanket that smells familiar, that should give them comfort during their adjustment period. Make sure that whoever adopts them understands that they might take a while to warm up to new people and will need some space while they get used to their new surroundings.

As hard as it is for us humans, they will be fine once they adjust.

Becky, Feb 26, 2019
  3. Indecisive1

Byron nelson Active Member