dog person adapting to cats

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by doglvr, Feb 1, 2015.

1. doglvr

doglvr Member

Hello from Boston, MA. As you can see by my user name I am a dog lover who, after putting my dog down a few months ago, has become a cat person. I was so devastated after my dog died I swore I'd never have another one. My niece persuaded me to adopt 2 of her cats, brother & sister, who were terrified by her new rescued dog. I agreed and have been learning via the internet & asking cat owners all about cats. They are definitely a different breed. Hopefully I'll get a few pointers on this forum. More than pointers. I'm still learning.

doglvr, Feb 1, 2015
  2. doglvr

Ian Administrator Staff Member

Hi doglvr, welcome to the forums :D.

Ian, Feb 2, 2015
  3. doglvr

Trellum Well-Known Member

Hi there! I can totally understand how are you feeling, because I grew up with dog person; my mom. She has never been able to tolerate cats, so kudos to you for trying to do that! Cats are very different from dogs, so it might take you a while to get used to them, meanwhile try to be patient, I'm sure you will eventually like cats so very much! =D

Trellum, Feb 2, 2015
  4. doglvr

Kay Dougall Well-Known Member

hi doglvr,
    Just read your post. I started out as a dog lover as a kid, but then I rescued a black kitten. Jumped into a canal at 5:30 in the morning after hearing a small animal crying out for help. I can't swim, but the water was only waist high, and stinking cold! That's how I got started in cats. Also rescued his two black brothers, so we went from dog to cats overnight!

We also rescue Malamutes (cat-friendly ones), so we're now a mixed family. Hope you enjoy your cats. They can be fiendishly clever, and very annoying at 2 in the morning, but I wouldn't want it any other way.
    k

Kay Dougall, Mar 4, 2015
  5. doglvr

Super Petlover Member

wow.. that's just so cute.. I love dogs too.. but cats are so irresistibly cute and cuddly.