Do you brush your cat's teeth?

Discussion in 'Health & Nutrition' started by I Heart Meezers, Nov 29, 2011.

1. I Heart Meezers

I Heart Meezers New Member

And if so, what do you use to do the brushing?

I tried to get my girls accustomed to having their teeth brushed when they were kittens, by using one of those finger-sleeve brushes. It was a disaster! I couldn't get it in their mouths -- too big. Now, they're not at all used to it and one is having some dental problems; I'm wondering if it's worth another shot if I could find a brush that would actually work.

Any tips?

I Heart Meezers, Nov 29, 2011
  2. I Heart Meezers

Wahcashmom Well-Known Member

No, I have never tried to brush my cats teeth before. I have my dogs, but not my cats. I was told, that I really needed to brush the cats teeth, but I can never get them to stay in my lap while trying to do it. They always scratch me, and it hurts.

Wahcashmom, Dec 2, 2011
  3. I Heart Meezers

Victor Leigh Well-Known Member

Same here. Never brushed any of my cats' teeth. Never seen anyone doing that either. Dogs, yes. I had a neighbor who would brush the teeth of her Poodle every morning. The dog just sits there quietly waiting for her to finish. I think it loves the attention.

Victor Leigh, Dec 2, 2011
  4. I Heart Meezers

Well, I've read articles and seen videos about it, so I know it can be done, I'm just at a loss for how to get it to actually do something for my cats. Mine won't scratch or try to get away. The problem I had was that, because the brush was so big and cumbersome, I couldn't really achieve any brushing motion against their little teeth. And forget getting that giant fingerbrush inside their little cheeks to do the back teeth.
    What ultimately ended up happening was that they'd just eat the paste. *sigh*

I Heart Meezers, Dec 2, 2011
  5. I Heart Meezers

What you need is a much smaller brush. Maybe you can try one of those which women use to brush their eyelashes.